Natalie Merchant, Book Signing “Leave Your Sleep”

Natalie Merchant, solo singer & member of 10000 Maniacs, signing copies of Leave Your Sleep

*7/22/10 12:30 PM at Borders Books – State Street. Chicago, IL.

Natalie Anne Merchant (born October 26, 1963) is an American singer-songwriter and musician. She joined the alternative rock band 10,000 Maniacs in 1981 and left it to begin her solo career in 1993.

Merchant was lead singer and primary lyricist for 10,000 Maniacs, joining in its infancy in 1981 while she was a student at Jamestown Community College. In 1993 she announced that she was leaving the group.

With 10,000 Maniacs

* Human Conflict Number Five (1982)
* Secrets of the I Ching (1983)
* The Wishing Chair (1985)
* In My Tribe (1987)
* Blind Man’s Zoo (1989)
* Hope Chest: The Fredonia Recordings 1982-1983 (1990)
* Our Time in Eden (1992)
* MTV Unplugged (1993)
* Campfire Songs: The Popular, Obscure and Unknown Recordings (2004)

Solo Career
Main article: Natalie Merchant discography

* 1995: Tigerlily
* 1998: Ophelia
* 2001: Motherland
* 2003: The House Carpenter’s Daughter
* 2010: Leave Your Sleep



Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.